Your Advocate In And Out Of The Courtroom

Minor In Possession

Minor In Possession Of Alcohol Lawyers In Morris County, NJ

Under New Jersey Statute 2C:33-15, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess or purchase alcohol. A violation of this law, which is the same law that governs underage drinking, is referred to as minor in possession, or MIP. If you are a young person who has been charged with MIP, or a parent whose child has been accused of MIP, reach out to an experienced criminal defense lawyer for advice. At the office of James M. Porfido, Attorney at Law, we represent young people in Morris County, Essex County, Somerset County, and throughout the state. We regularly defend juveniles who have been charged with juvenile crimes like MIP, underage drinking, and related offenses. Under the leadership of attorney James M. Porfido, we fight hard to make sure that a youthful mistake does not follow our clients into adulthood. Talk to an experienced minor in possession lawyer in Morristown by calling us, or you can also contact us online.

Exceptions To The MIP Rule In New Jersey

There are three exceptions to the rule that minors are not allowed to possess alcohol in New Jersey:
  • Adult family members: Minors are allowed to possess and consume alcohol on the property of an immediate adult family member with that family member’s permission and in his or her presence. Note, minors who are not family members do not fit this exception.
  • Religious participation: Minors are allowed to possess and consume alcohol for the purpose of religious rites and ceremonies.
  • Employment or education: Minors who work at restaurants or hotels that sell alcohol are allowed to possess alcohol at work. Similarly, minors who are enrolled in a culinary school or a hotel management program are allowed to possess alcohol. Note: minors are not allowed to consume alcohol under this exception.

Penalties For Minor In Possession In NJ

Under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, MIP is considered a disorderly persons offense. The minimum fine for a conviction is $500. If the offense was committed in a motor vehicle, then the offender’s driver’s license will be suspended for six months. The judge may also require the minor to attend alcohol education classes. Before your child pleads guilty to minor in possession charges, call the office of James M. Porfido, Attorney at Law. There may be ways to challenge the evidence and get the case dismissed.

Facing Minor In Possession Charges In Morris County, NJ? We Can Help

If your child has been charged with minor in possession in Morris County, Essex County, or anywhere in northern New Jersey, reach out to our firm for help. Call us today, or you can also send us an email and we will respond promptly. Credit cards accepted • Payment plans available • Se habla español


What To Expect

This form is fully confidential
We will safeguard your privacy and reputation. View our privacy policy here.
We will contact you within 24 hours
Someone from our office will be in contact with you shortly after submitting this form.
Have your questions answered
If you need immediate assistance, please call 973.683.1140 for an initial consultation.


Tell Us What Happened

*Indicates a required field

James M. Porfido

Attorney At Law, LLC

t: 973.683.1140

© 2018 James M. Porfido, Attorney at Law, LLC. All Rights Reserved.