Underage Drinking Defense Attorney In Morris County, NJ
Underage Drinking Charges In New Jersey Can Have Long-Term Repercussions, So Enlist Our Experienced Legal Guidance Today!
Underage drinking may seem like “no big deal,” but the reality is that a conviction can stay on your criminal record and prevent you from renting an apartment, getting a job, or being accepted into the school of your choice. If you are charged with underage DUI
, the consequences are even more severe.
At James M. Porfido, Attorney at Law
, our Morristown underage drinking defense lawyer represents college students, high school students, and other juveniles
in Morris County, Essex County, and across northern New Jersey. We do our best to help our young clients avoid conviction, keep their driver’s licenses, and move past youthful mistakes and into bright futures.
Morristown Juvenile Defense Attorney Works Hard To Minimize The Impact Of An Underage Drinking Charge
Underage drinking is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 and 2C:33-16. A conviction could result in the loss of your driver’s license for six months and a $500 fine. In fact, a young person can be convicted under this statute even if they possessed alcohol but were not drinking. That is called minor in possession, or MIP
Over the course of a career spanning nearly 25 years, attorney James Porfido has both prosecuted and defended numerous cases involving underage drinking, underage DUI, and minor in possession. Many of our firm’s clients are students attending New Jersey colleges and universities such as Fairleigh Dickinson University, Drew University, College of Saint Elizabeth, County College of Morris, Sussex County Community College, and other area schools.
We are able to handle the criminal procedures, as well as advise our clients on the university administrative issues that may arise as a result of underage drinking.
We Explore All Possible Defenses In NJ Underage Drinking Cases
As with every juvenile crime case we handle, we will thoroughly examine all the facts surrounding your arrest. If any evidence was obtained illegally, perhaps through an unlawful search, we will work to have it excluded — which often leads to dismissal.
Even if you or your child already entered a guilty plea, it may not be too late. For instance, if a lawyer was requested and not provided, or if the young person was not told about their right to have a lawyer, we may be able to vacate the guilty plea or file an appeal.
Contact Our Randolph, NJ Underage Drinking Lawyer Today
If your child has been charged with underage drinking, a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, in Morris County, Essex County, or anywhere in northern New Jersey, reach out to our firm for help. Call us now, or you can also send us an email
and we will respond promptly.
Credit cards accepted • Payment plans available • Se habla español