Underage DUI & DWI Lawyer In Morristown, New Jersey
Morristown Criminal Defense Attorney For Underage DWI Defense
Underage drinking and driving is a serious national problem, and New Jersey is not immune. The social and personal costs of underage DWIs are significant. A 2013 report to Congress from the Department of Health and Human Services revealed that underage drinking and driving accounted for 24 percent of all traffic fatalities. It is no wonder that New Jersey officials take this very seriously, imposing significant penalties in an effort to deter teens from drinking and driving.
New Jersey Penalties For Underage DUI
The penalties for an underage DWI/DUI conviction are significant and life changing. A teen convicted of underage DUI faces penalties that include a 30-to-90-day license suspension, community service, jail time of up to 30 days, alcohol education classes, fines, and an arrest record. If you are unlicensed and under 17, you will experience a 30-to-90-day delay in processing your license application. The penalties for underage drinking and driving are not only legal: the insurance company could also penalize you by raising your car insurance premiums. You may even have trouble gaining admission to college or gaining employment.
Why You Need A Dedicated Morris County Juvenile Defense Attorney To Fight Underage DWI/DUI Charges
At our Morristown law firm, James M. Porfido Attorney At Law, LLC, we help teens and their families obtain the best possible outcome after a charge of underage DUI/DWI. Our attorney works hard, knowing that a young person’s future may be at stake because of an underage drunk driving conviction. Our young clients are often very afraid; the relaxed yet professional atmosphere of our offices allows teens and their families to feel comfortable and reassured.
Possible Defenses Against Underage DUI/DWI Charges in New Jersey
Possible defense strategies against an underage DUI charge include:
- Challenging the breath test results. Certain medications, foods, medical conditions, and even mouthwash can create false positives. Because the threshold for underage drunk driving in NJ is very low — .01 percent — false positive readings are much more likely with underage drivers taking the breath test.
- Applying the Fourth Amendment. If a teen’s constitutional rights were violated, the charge could be dismissed. For example, an unreasonable search might result in illegally obtained evidence against you being thrown out prior to trial.
Our attorney works hard to get underage DUI/DWI charges reduced or dismissed. He also seeks reduced penalties whenever possible in order to minimize the consequences of an underage drunk driving conviction.
Contact A Morristown Underage DWI Defense Attorney Today
At James M. Porfido, Attorney At Law, LLC, we know that many underage DUI/DWI charges stem from one very bad decision—a decision to drink illegally and then drive. We are diligent in our efforts to protect the rights and futures of our young clients. If your child has been charged with underage DWI/DUI in Morristown or the surrounding counties, please call us anytime or use our online contact form to learn about your legal options.